Testimony of Faith

Welcome to Islam, You may have discovered Islam on your own or you may have been introduced to Islam by a Muslim spouse, coworker, friend, neighbour, or colleague. We congratulate you on your commitment and remind you of the following quotation from the Quran:

“There is no compulsion in religion. The right way now stands clearly distinguished from the wrong.” (2:256)

Embracing Islam is a decision you must make freely, for you alone will be ultimately accountable on the Day of Judgement for your intentions and actions.

This is a basic guide that has been compiled to share the basics of the prayer and a few other things to consider for converts just starting out on their Journey.

The Basics

The Five Pillars of Islam are the basic five Primary obligations that Muslims must fulfil in their lifetime. The Pillars provide the structure of Muslim life, putting faith into action and practice. They are: Shahadah (Declaration of faith), Salah (Prayer), Zakat (Charity), Saum (Fasting) and Hajj (Pilgrimage). Although daunting at first, over time they can become part of daily life.

  1. Shahadah the first pillar of faith, is the most basic requirement. To become a Muslim you only have to sincerely believe in and say the following phrase:

“Ash hadu an la ilaha ill Allah wa ash hadu anna Muhammadar Rasul Allah.”

“I declare there is no god but Allah and I declare that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.”

With Saying the statement of Faith you have entered into Islam and proclaim the beliefs of Islam, which Include:

  • Belief in One God
  • Belief in the Prophets
  • Belief in the Holy Books (Torah, Scrolls of Abraham, Gospel of Jesus, Psalms of David, The Quran – However it’s believed that the Quran is the only one that exists in its original form.)
  • Belief in Angels
  • Belief in the Day of Judgement
  • Belief in Divine Destiny (Qadhaa’ and Qadr)

2. Salah, Prayer, is the second pillar, which is performed five times each day by Muslims. The Islamic faith is based on the fact that individuals have a direct relationship with Allah (See later).

3. Zakat or Charity, is the third pillar. This is the social responsibilities required of Muslims are required to do as it is considered part of one’s service to God. To fulfil Zakat’s duty, ones required to give 2.5% of their wealth for the benefit of the poor or needy. Muslims may also donate more, this is an act of Sadaqah , voluntary charity.

4. Sawm or Fasting is the 4th pillar, this is the fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Muslims abstain from food and drink as well as sexual intercourse from sunrise to sunset. Fasting is necessary for all Muslims that have reached puberty.

5. Hajj or Pilgrimage. A once in a life-time trip to Mecca to purify your soul and reconnect with our ultimate purpose in life. The month of Hajj is when millions of Muslims all over the world arrive to serve Allah wearing only simple, white clothes and no status or titles.


Belfast Islamic Centre

13 - 19 University Road,
Belfast, BT7 1NA,
Northern Ireland
United Kingdom

P: +44 (0) 2890 664465 (currently not operational)
WhatsApp: +44(0) 7380 626825

Copyright © 2024 by Belfast Islamic Centre. All rights reserved.